Home / Government


The Town of Strasburg operates under a Council-Manager form of government as provided by the Town Charter and adopted by the Virginia General Assembly on February 25, 1922.  Political authority is vested in the Mayor and eight-member Town Council, which enacts ordinances and resolutions, approves Town budgets, sets tax rates, and establishes policy.  The Council acts as a group in formulating decisions and policy.

The Council is comprised of eight voting members and a Mayor who votes only in the event of a tie.  Each Council member is elected to a four-year term, with four seats being open for election every two years.  Likewise, the Mayor's seat is filled every four years by general election.    Elections are held in May of even-numbered years, with members taking office on July 1.  The Mayor and Council are elected at-large and are not affiliated with a political party.

The Council appoints a full-time manager to administer the day-to-day operations of the Town and to advise on matters of policy.  The Council also appoints a clerk, police chief, treasurer, and attorney.

In addition to attending Council meetings and work sessions, members attend meetings of local boards and commissions and regional organizations.  Members also participate in the Virginia Municipal League.

Regular Town Council meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month, beginning at 7:00 p.m. and Council Work Sessions are held on the Monday of the week preceding the regular Council meeting and the Monday following the regular Council meeting, beginning at 7:00 p.m.  Meetings and work sessions are held in the Council Chambers of the Strasburg Town Hall located at 174 East King Street.  The public is invited and encouraged to attend as time is given during each meeting for citizen comments.

Important Information