

## **DESCRIPTIONS FOR BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS**

The Architectural Review Board (ARB) is composed of five (5) members, who are appointed by the Town Council to review and provide recommendations on applications for major modifications, and to review and decide on applications for Certificates of Appropriateness (COAs) within the Historic Downtown Overlay District. Additionally, the ARB is tasked with reviewing other historic preservation-related matters as directed by the Town Council, or as requested by Town staff. The ARB generally meets on the fourth (4th) Thursday of each month, is governed by the regulations found in the Unified Development Ordinance (UDO) Section 1.17, and makes decisions based on UDO Section 2.32, in addition to the Strasburg Historic District Design Guidelines (SHDDG). Members of the ARB are appointed for a four (4) year term.

The **Planning Commission** is currently composed of five (5) members, who are appointed by the Town Council to review and decide on Site Plan Applications, and to review and provide recommendations to the Town Council on Amendments, as well as Major Subdivision, Planned Development, and Special Use Permit Applications. Additionally, the Planning Commission is tasked with reviewing other planning, zoning, land use, and development-related matters as directed by the Town Council. The Planning Commission generally meets on a monthly basis (fourth Tuesday), is governed by the Unified Development Ordinance (UDO) Section 1.18, and reviews all applications within the contexts of the UDO, the Comprehensive Plan, and any other applicable planning document. Members of the Planning Commission are appointed for a four (4) year term.

The **Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA)** is composed of five (5) members, and is appointed by the Shenandoah County Circuit Court to review and decide on Appeals Applications (which include variances). The BZA meets on an as-needed basis, is governed by the Unified Development Ordinance (UDO) Section 1.19, and reviews all applications within the contexts of UDO Section 2.18 and UDO Section 2.19. Members of the BZA are appointed for a five (5) year term.

The Community Advisory Team (CAT) is currently composed of ten members (eight representatives and two staff), and is an ad hoc advisory committee put together by staff with Town Council guidance. The team comes together once per month to act in an advisory capacity to Community Development staff on topics which are areas of authority for staff, but which staff wants community input. Because of this, the group is intentionally diverse. CAT has offered recommendations on topics such as the logo; wayfinding signage design; the Virginia Commission for the Arts/National Endowment for the Arts Creative Communities Partnership Grant; stylistic choices for items such as benches, banners, and garbage/recycling receptacles, and more.